Guest Post #2: Tips To Let Go + Stress Less

Hello lovely blog readers! I’m Megan, Mal’s dear friend, old roomie and Maid of Honor! I’m sure you saw me in a post or two, as Mal and I tend to spend more than a few days a week together. I guess you could say we like each other..

Guest Post 2

I was so excited when Mal asked me to write a guest post this week! I’m a huge fan of her blog since I’m also a food and fitness lover, and love living healthy in general. A few essentials about me:  I love yoga and meditation, I’m currently a grad student and lived in Spain this past year teaching, I’m obsessed with Bethenny Frankel and recently had the opportunity to meet her (best night ever!), and I write weekly for an online magazine called Sweet Lemon on lots of healthy living topics. But enough about me..this week, I decided to write about creating a healthy balance in your life, in hopes that it will benefit your mind, body and spirit.

Do you consider yourself a perfectionist or always want to be in control? Maybe you can’t complete something until it’s absolutely “just right”or tend to go a little crazy when your day doesn’t go exactly according to plan because there’s just too much to juggle. This trying to be perfect can be exhausting! And actually, it’s impossible. It only creates stress and anxiety. It can affect your mood, attitude, relationships and quite simply, your overall happiness.

This segment from the Today Show may inspire you to create a healthy balance in your life!

Like these lovely ladies said, let’s create that balance and flow! How?

My tips for a balanced, less stressed life:

– Don’t be so hard on yourself! Give up some control. Breathe a little and just enjoy life and the moment. Become a little more flexible and listen to your body..with both eating and exercise. Take a day off from a workout if needed or cancel those dinner plans for a night in.

-Tell yourself: This is as good as it (work project, event, assignment) will be, and that’s okay.

-Focus on you! Eat healthy, workout, do something daily you love and just breathe. You can’t be there fully for others in the best way possible unless you take care of yourself first.

-Find what works for you to relieve stress: yoga, mediation, a bubble bath or a spiritual practice. Surrender and stop trying to control. Find your inner peace. If you choose this for yourself, it will change your life experience. Like Marianne Williamson says..

“Everything we do is infused with the energy with which we do it. If we’re frantic, life will be frantic. If we’re peaceful, life will be peaceful. And so our goal in any situation becomes inner peace. Our internal state determines our experience of our lives; our experiences do not determine our internal state.”

Maybe things aren’t supposed to be perfect in life. How would we learn if everything was? Maybe, it really is the journey that’s most important, full of imperfections and mistakes. That’s where we learn. That’s where we grow. That’s where we discover ourselves and become truly happy in realizing that life isn’t about being perfect, it’s about letting go and living. When we do that, everything will fall perfectly into place.

I hope you enjoyed my guest post today and could take a little something from it. Don’t hesitate to share your thoughts with me..I’d love to hear from you! And please, feel free to check out my features on Sweet Lemon, especially if you’re into fitness and healthy living! Read about yoga teachers I love, my favorite workouts, how to keep fit while traveling, and how to eat healthy on the go..just to name a few!

Enjoy your day peeps, and thanks for stopping in!

2 thoughts on “Guest Post #2: Tips To Let Go + Stress Less

Leave a Reply

