Healthy Greek Frittata

Hey there friends!! Happy Hump Day! How is everyone feeling?! I’m quickly finding that I have fewer exciting things to share with you when I’m working 9 or 10 hour days. Sorry about that! This week’s eats were pretty boring thus far though, as I starting coming down with a cold Sunday night and I’m still working to kick it to the curb! The best thing about having a cold? Luden’s Cherry Throat Drops. Amen. And soup has been my dinner of choice lately, so don’t worry, I’m not withholding any secret recipes from ya!

photo

My workouts have also been pretty light – I think it’s much more important to rest up and get better than to push it too hard and extend this little cold thing I’ve got going on. This morning was the first that I felt up for a run, and I laced up around 6 a.m. for a 3+ mile run with Derek!

Now that’s how you start a hump day! Although I don’t have any dinner recipes for ya, I do have a yummy frittata recipe to share! Maybe you’ll decide to be a little Greek this weekend and make it for breakfast? Opa!!

Healthy Greek Frittata

Ingredients

3 eggs and 4 egg whites

½ green pepper, chopped

1/3 white onion, chopped

½ tomato, sliced thin

¼ cup baby spinach leaves

1/2 cup reduced fat crumbled feta cheese

1 tbsp oregano

Cooking spray

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°. In a bowl, whisk half of the cheese in with the eggs, and beat until incorporated. Sprinkle in oregano, and mix together.

Spray a frying pan with cooking spray, and cook peppers and onion over high heat, for 5-7 minutes. Add in egg and cheese mixture, as well as spinach, and cook for about 5 more minutes. Place tomato slices on top, and move pan around so that the eggs begin to cover the tomatoes. Cook for another minute, and top with remaining feta before transferring pan to the oven.

photo 1111

Cook in oven for 5-7 more minutes, or until top is golden brown and eggs are cooked through. Cut into pizza-shaped slices and enjoy immediately.

photo 22222

photo 4444

photo 3333Have a great day guys, and as my dad always says. keep smiling!

Leave a Reply

