Another Early Morning + It’s Pumpkin Time

Well hello folks! How are ya?! I’m currently typing this post over a bowl of pumpkin oatmeal, and I am happy as a clam about it. Now before I go through one of my favorite pumpkin recipes, I’ll share with you the highlights of my Monday!

Monday began with a 6 a.m. alarm that woke me from a deep sleep. Unfortunate as it may be, I usually beat my alarm up and typically lay in bed for a couple minutes, waiting for it to go off. But Monday was a little different, and it took me a while to figure out where I was or what I needed to do. But I quickly remembered, and I laced up with Derek for a 3 mile run to start the week off on the right foot. The beginning part of our morning runs are usually dark and quiet, but by the end of the last mile, the sun  begins to show it’s face and it seems the neighborhood begins to wake up. Perfect timing to start getting ready for work!

My breakfast yesterday included a bowl of cereal, as well as an apple smothered in pumpkin butter. It was divine. (If you watch Modern Family, you know that both Cam and I use the word divine like it’s the word “ok”. Oh well who cares!?)

nn

Off to work I went, but the day was extra special, because it’s the first time Derek and I were both working in our offices downtown. We met for lunch at a salad place that allows you to build your own salad.

abc

After work, I finished my day off with a Bodypump class at the gym, and a spicy Mexican stirfry with Derek!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

 I can’t believe I couldn’t think of a more creative post title relaed to my favorite orange food, but I just cannot do it. The creative bug has left the building and there’s nothing I can do about it. But, lucky for all of us, the baking bug has not! Now, I’m not sure if you guys have heard or not, and it’s a pretty low key ingredient these days, but pumpkin is cool to cook with. And to honor the big orange squash, I have prepared the simplest Pumpkin Chocolate Chip muffins of all time. How simple, do you ask? 3 ingredient simple. Yes, you read correctly, 3.

pumpkin1

Here’s the dealio, pumpkin eaters:

Easier than pie Pumpkin Muffins

Ingredients

1 15 oz. can of pumpkin puree

1 bag of mini chocolate morsels (dark or milk)

1 box of yellow cake mix

Directions

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a muffin tin with paper muffin liners.

Combine 3 ingredients and beat until incorporated.

pumpkin2

Bake for 20-22 minutes. To ensure muffins are cooked through, stick a toothpick in a muffin – if it comes out gooey, bake for a few more minutes.

Remove from oven and let cool for several minutes. Or eat immediately with vanilla ice cream. Whatever floats your boat!

pumpkin4

pumpkin3

Do you have any favorite pumpkin recipes?

4 thoughts on “Another Early Morning + It’s Pumpkin Time

  1. I love your blog Mallory!! I doubt you remember me from like 5th grade haha! Do you need an electric beater for these cupcakes or can you just do it by hand?

    • Hi, Marisa! Of course I remember you 🙂 Thanks for reading the blog! You can definitely do this by hand with a whisk, the pumpkin puree mixes pretty easily. Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Banana Walnut Loaf + Happy Birthday Weekend to D Man! | eatsandfastfeets

  3. Pingback: Happy Hump Day! And… Skinny Pumpkin Granola! | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

