Banana Walnut Loaf + Happy Birthday Weekend to D Man!

Hey there party people! THE WEEKEND IS UPON US! In a few short hours, the work week will end, and I am thrilled because it is Derek’s birthday weekend, so plenty of celebrations will ensue. For good measure and some funny faces, please refer to the birthday pictures below from the past 4 years.

16441_1205777740356_601145_n

71646_1522413336048_597470_n

296018_2271070172001_1714668920_n

photo

Anywho. My week this week has been insanely busy, and I’m grateful that I was able to run 3 out of the last 4 days, as well as take a yoga and bodypump class.

yogaGranted, I’ve been waking up before 6am or getting home after 830pm to do these things, but it’s made my work week a bit more enjoyable. I do have some sad news to report, however, and maybe some of you have experienced this same awful thing before. But I wouldn’t wish this upon my worst enemy. Wednesday night I got into bed around 10 p.m., with my alarm set for a 6 a.m. morning run. I did not sleep one ounce (yes I understand ounce is not the correct measurement, it’s obviously minutes, but humor me) all night long. Around 3 in the morning, after tossing and turning 5 hours, I resolved to stop trying to sleep, and instead read a book. And between 5 and 6 am I was just praying for time to pass by because I was bored out of my mind. Has this ever happened to any of you? An entire sleepless night? I’ve never struggled with insomnia before, so I’m not sure if this is just a typical case of that. Who knows. But I do hope it NEVER happens again.

Now, enough dwelling on the negative! Boy do I have a recipe to share with you, and just in time for the weekend! I made this banana walnut bread (an adaptation of a Food Network Recipe) the same weekend as I made the easiest Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins. While the aforementioned muffins were received very well by my pumpkin-loving friends and relatives, it is a sad truth that pumpkin isn’t everyone’s favorite flavor. Bananas, on the other hand, typically are an all around favorite, and this recipe was the winner of the weekend!

bb1

Ingredients

1 1/4 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda

2 egg whites (I use Egg Beaters – 1/2 cup)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup sugar (I used part stevia – conversion here)

3 very ripe bananas

1/2 cup chopped or broken up walnuts

1 stick butter (I use Smart Balance – 1/2 cup)

1 teaspoon baking powder

Directions

Preheat oven to 350° and spray a loaf pan with non-stick spray.  In a large bowl, mash bananas with fork.

Pour flour into  a large bowl, and add in baking soda and set aside. In a small bowl bowl, mix together egg whites and vanilla extract. In the bowl of a stand up mixer (or a large bowl and a hand mixer) mix the butter and sugar together. After the butter and sugar are mixed, first add in the egg mixture and then the mashed bananas and mix until wet ingredients are incorporated. Finally, fold in the flour mixture and walnuts and mix by hand.

Pour batter into loaf pan, and bake for 1 hour. To make sure the baking is complete, stick a tooth pick in loaf to check the loaf is baked through.

bb5

bb3

If you know what’s good for you, you’ll give this recipe some serious thought! Have a happy weekend, y’all!

5 thoughts on “Banana Walnut Loaf + Happy Birthday Weekend to D Man!

  1. YUM. Oh man, I love banana bread…yours looks so good! I’m so sorry about your entirely sleepless night :-/ That has happened to me only once about 6 years ago, and it was miserable. I remember the longer I went without sleeping, the more stressed I was about not being able to fall asleep, which then made it even harder to sleep. Ugh. I hope you were able to get some rest last night!

  2. Pingback: Happy Hump Day! And… Skinny Pumpkin Granola! | eatsandfastfeets

  3. Pingback: Top 13 Recipes of 2013 | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a Reply

