Photo Share 10/21

So you guys. I’m pretty sure that I liked this weekend (Derek’s birthday) more than my own birthday. He/I received the best birthday gift imaginable. What was this gift, I hear you asking? The best football weekend of our lives. Okay maybe just my life, since it’s probably safe to say that his was winning the national championship with Auburn. But I don’t know it seems like it could be a close second. We’ll have to further consult with him.

 Seeing this image on Sunday night gave me serious anxiety in the best way imaginable.

photo 1

I haven’t yet talked any football on the blog, mostly because I didn’t want to scare anyone off or lose any friends with my intensity. But the truth of the matter is, it’s time for me to come clean. I’m a pretty aggressive FSU fan, and have been since the day I was born. When Derek played for Auburn, I obviously became a passionate Tiger as well, and I’ve watched Peyton Manning play football since I was 12, which naturally makes me a Denver Broncos fan. My allegiances are everywhere, and it takes up a good portion of my weekends.

And as college football goes, this weekend took the cake. And it was a Wright’s cake.

photo 2

See, this is why I didn’t want to start talking about football, because it’s so hard for me to stop. But other great things happened this weekend besides football. Like the following:

aaaaa

Delicious birthday dinner for Derek and his mom at Palma Ceia on Friday evening. I swear I’ve never been disappointed here.

photo 4

Although we were stuffed to the brim, how could we say no to birthday dessert? We shared the chocolate lava cake a la mode, as well as a pumpkin brulee cheesecake. Heaven in my mouth.photo 5

Saturday morning started by checking a long run off of our training list. We ran 7 miles at 8:15 in the morning, and I was surprised that it didn’t get too unbearably hot during the hour we were out.  We started with a slow jog for our warm up, and ended our cool down the same way, and spent a total of 1:05 running. We were both surprised that 7 miles didn’t feel any harder or worse than 5 or 6, and it makes me so excited to take on 8 and 9 in the next couple of weeks.

After our run, we headed to Derek’s favorite coffee spot, Buddy Brew. Buddy Brew has delicious artisan coffee, and Derek will go every chance he gets!

photo 1

After coffee comes breakfast. Obviously. I whipped up some eggs scrambled with monterey jack cheese, tomatoes, peppers, and onions, and we enjoyed it along side Derek’s left over NY Strip steak. Talk about a breakfast of champions.
photo 2

Aside from watching football all day on Saturday, we worked on a little re-furb project:

photo (39)

And enjoyed watching the Noles win at The Lodge with the rest of Tampa! I wish my birthday was in the fall so the Noles could give me good birthday gifts every year.

Derek’s birthday morning began with his favorite smoothie, a new lawn mower, and brunch with his family at Palma Ceia. photo 1

And after some time hanging with friends, watching football, and a quick work out, we enjoyed arguably the best meal of the weekend at his parents’ home. photo 4If you haven’t tried a steak from The Fresh Market, you don’t know what you’re missing. Sunday night was my first experience, and I will never be the same again. All in all, I hope Derek had as great of a birthday weekend as I had celebrating his birthday!

Happy Monday, everyone!

photo 3

One thought on “Photo Share 10/21

Leave a Reply

