Sweet Potato Nachos Recipe

Hey friends Happy Hump Day! Tuesday was a long one for me, that started with hitting the snooze button instead of heading out for a morning run. I was a little disappointed in myself with the lack of discipline I had, but it ended up being for the best as I was able to run after work and attend a CXWorx class. My typical runs lately have been even paced and long, but since I was crunched for time yesterday, I completed an interval run that looked a bit like this:

Work out May 25

My plan was to complete the entire run, but I cut it short after the 30 minute mark because I was pressed for time!

Other than that, the day was all work and no play, and I know I will be worn out by the time the weekend rolls around!

I didn’t have time to cook on Tuesday and so we all had leftovers for dinner, as well as a giant salad filled with apples, grapes, almonds, and goat cheese. Not very fall-ish of us, but still delicious….

 

salad but I have a tasty recipe to share with you from Monday evening. We made ours with chicken, but the meat can easily be left out for a vegetarian friendly meal!  It goes a little bit like this:

Sweet Potato Nachos

Ingredients

4 sweet potatoes

2 chicken baked or grilled chicken breasts, cut into cubes

1/2 orange, red or yellow onion, sliced

1/2 cup reduced fat crumbled feta cheese

1/3 cup reduced fat spicy pepper jack cheese, shredded (I used Cabot Jalapeno Light)

1 cup diced tomatoes

1/2 cup diced scallions,

1/2 tbsp garlic powder

1/2 tbsp pepper

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1 tbsp vegetable oil

cooking spray

Directions

Preheat oven to 425°. Cut sweet potatoes in half length-wise, and place cut side down on cutting board. Cut sweet potatoes into wedges – about 6 wedges per 1/2 sweet potato.

photo 1

Combine sweet potato wedges, vegetable oil, garlic powder, pepper and red pepper in a large bowl, and toss to coat sweet potatoes. Spray a baking sheet/baking dish (or 2) with cooking spray, and bake wedges in a single layer for 15-18 minutes.

photo 2

Remove trays from oven, and top sweet potatoes with scallions, tomatoes, pepper strips, and cubed chicken breasts, if using, and return to oven for 5 minutes. Remove from oven once more, and top with cheeses. Continue baking for 2 minutes, remove from oven, and serve immediately.

photo 3

photo 5

If y’all try it out, let me know what you think!

Today I’m excited to get together with several friends for dinner – nothing like a mid-week wine, girlfriends, and food treat!

Leave a Reply

