I Made Friends + Light Cajun Chicken Pasta

Hi, friends ! How goes it? I hope everyone is recovering from the Monday blues! My Monday was an easy one, and for that I am thankful! My day of training got out unexpectedly early, and I was able to head to the gym for a nice sweat sesh after work. My original plan for the week was to take Monday off after my 8 mile run on Sunday, but how could I pass up working out after finishing my day at 4:30 p.m.? I just couldn’t.

I completed the following interval run and weight session before calling it quits.

Screen shot 2013-09-04 at 8.02.57 AM

Screen shot 2013-07-23 at 3.53.28 PM

(Repeat 3 times)

After the gym, some new work friends from North Carolina and Tennessee invited me to dinner and to hang for the night. One of my favorite parts about training is meeting people from all over the U.S., and staying in contact throughout our careers. We had a great night at Ormsby’s in Atlanta – a tavern with delicious food and drinks. I had a killer cup of sweet chili, along with an arugula salad loaded with beets.

bbbb

I loaded up on sleep and am ready to rock and roll today, but not until I share this new recipe with you all!

Last week after a trip to the farmer’s market, I returned with arms full of fresh peppers, onions, and scallions (all for under $5 – benefits of eliminating the middle man aka Publix). I wanted to incorporate all the veggies, as well as some chicken breasts I had on hand, into a filling and nutrient-rich meal. I haven’t incorporated pasta into my meals lately, and I thought this meal would be a good time to do it. I came up with a healthy spicy Cajun chicken pasta recipe, that came together like this.

tytytytr

Ingredients: (Serves 4-6)

  • 1 box uncooked whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1 pound chicken breast, cut into strips
  • 1-2 tsp Cajun seasoning (or to taste)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 medium yellow bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1 medium green pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 red onion, sliced
  • 1 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 medium tomatoes, diced
  • 1 cup fat free low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 3 tbsp light cream cheese
  • fresh cracked pepper
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • salt to taste
  • Cooking Spray

Directions:

Cook pasta  in a very deep pot according to package instructions, strain and set aside.

In a large sauté pan prepared with cooking spray, cook chicken breasts for 6-8 minutes, or until cooked through. Remove from pan and set aside.

Meanwhile, combine onion, bell pepper strips, garlic clove, Cajun seasoning, pepper and olive oil in a large bowl. Coat vegetables completely.  Saute onions and peppers over high heat on stove for 8-10 minutes, until vegetables have softened.

gfdgfdgdf

Reduce heat to low, and add in tomatoes, 1 cup chicken broth, 1/3 cup almond milk, and 3 tbsp light cream cheese. Cook for 2 minutes more.

Add chicken strips and pepper and onion mixture to the pot of pasta, and stir to combine. Top with chopped scallions and serve immediately.

aaaaa

Like always, keep smiling and enjoy this recipe if you try it!

Leave a Reply

