Where I’ve Been Lately + Holy Guacamole

Hi, friends! I apologize for my absence lately – work life has been keeping me busy (and cold). I had a last minute trip to Iowa fall in my lap, and I am currently trying to keep warm in some 11° weather. My eats have been nothing special, a little bit of Panera bread mixed in with some Longhorn Steakhouse( if you find yourself at Longhorn, the Rainbow Trout is delish). I haven’t had an opportunity to exercise since my 10 mile run on Saturday morning, but hope to make it to the hotel gym before I head back to Florida late this week. In the mean time, I have a tasty party recipe to share with you all!

I don’t know about you guys, but one of my absolute favorite party appetizers is definitely a large bowl of fresh, homemade guacamole. And although I typically prefer to cook with avocado in the summer time, I think it’s fair game to eat guacamole all the way through football season. Avocado, the main ingredient in guacamole, happens to have some serious nutritional value too – packing in 30 grams of heart healthy unsaturated fats, as well as some serious fiber and Vitamin C. So what are you waiting for? Go ahead and make this delicious and healthy appetizer!

dsfdssd

Ingredients

3 Haas Avocados, peeled, seeded, and diced

1 garlic clove, minced

1/2 red onion, diced

2 roma tomatoes or 1 large tomato, diced

2 tbsp chopped cilantro

1/2 teaspoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

juice from 1 lime

photo (35)

Directions

In a large bowl, combine lime juice, avocado, salt, cumin, garlic and cayenne and mash together. Add in onion, tomatoes, and cilantro, and fold in until thoroughly combined. Let sit for 30 minutes, and serve with chips, pepper strips, or carrots.

image (66)

This recipe is pretty quick and hits the spot every time. In addition to a fun party dish to share, it also goes great with fajitas on Mexican Monday or Taco Tuesday!

As always, I hope you enjoy!

One thought on “Where I’ve Been Lately + Holy Guacamole

Leave a Reply

