WHAT A WEEK

You guys. To say this week has been wild would be the understatement of the year for me. As soon as I arrived home from travelling to Atlanta last week, I was informed that Iowa was calling my name and I needed to head out west for business for the week. For those of you who have never been to Iowa, please let me inform you that the weather is very different than we’re used to in good ole Tampa, FL. Upon touchdown in the state, temps were in the teens and snow flurries could be seen. I spent the week bundled up in thermals and coats, and needless to say, kept my few workouts in doors.

It took me a couple of days to warm up, and I didn’t make it to the gym until Wednesday morning around 6 a.m. Once I finally arrived at the quaint little hotel gym, I completed the following run on the treadmill. scrnshot

I was feeling pretty tired at that early hour, so it took me a good 7 minutes to really get moving. The slow warm-up helped jolt me awake! I also did a few arm and ab excercised to round out my gym sesh, and repeated the same routine at the same time Thursday morning.

Obviously, I wasn’t cooking out in Iowa. As the town I was working in was 10 minutes from Omaha, Nebraska, we visited restaurants in both states throughout the week. My favorite location – which really knocked my socks off.. who would have thought downtown Omaha was so unique and aesthetically pleasing?! – was a restaurant called M’s Pub that came recommended by a client.

p

k

v

Not only was the architecture and design of the interior amazing, the food was out of this world! We began our meal with a vegetarian Armenian Lavosh, and I rounded my dinner out with a grilled shrimp + avocado salad, served with the tastiest black bean cake I’ve ever had!

After such a good experience with the client’s recommendation on Tuesday night, we took her recommendation again on Wednesday night, but dined a bit more casually at Boxer BBQ Company in Council Bluffs, Iowa. I went all out and ordered 1/4 chicken, brisket, baked beans, cole slaw, fried pickles and some corn. Hey, when in Iowa… right?

k2

k1

My weekend is sure to be just as busy as the past few weeks have been, as I’m off in a few hours to Alabama for a friend’s wedding! I hope to fit in a long run on Saturday morning, since Derek and I have only 2 long training runs left before our half marathon!

Happy Friday, everyone! Be safe and smile 🙂

Leave a Reply

