Skinny “Bang Bang” Shrimp Skewers

Happy Hump Day, peeps! I love how fast Wednesday came around this week! Feels like just yesterday it was Tuesday.

Now I know what you’re thinking – I’m not going to work these few weeks so why does it matter if its the weekday or weekend? Well, I’ll tell you something. As much as I LOVE Louie and spending time cuddling with the sweet pup, it kind of stinks being home when everyone else is working! So, I wouldn’t recommend quitting your job to do what I’m doing any time soon.

Moving on..  Yesterday, to start my day, I headed to the gym and warmed up with the following 20 minute treadmill work out:

Screen shot 2013-09-04 at 8.02.57 AM

 

It was just enough to wake me up in time for a group cycling class.  Did I mention how much I’m loving group fitness these days? I then had a Junior League meeting, and ran some errands to pick up some things for a project I’m about to start on. For dinner, I made a homemade minestrone, but I’ll share that with you another day! Today, since it’s Wednesday and Bonefish Grill celebrates Bang Bang Shrimp on Wednesdays, I’m going to share with you my recipe for a healthier version of “Bang Bang” shrimp!

Ingredients

40 shrimp

wooden (soaked in water for 30 mins) or metal skewers

1 lime

3/4 cup fat free mayonnaise

4 tbsp Thai sweet chile sauce

1/2 cup of finely chopped scallions

pepper and red pepper flakes, to taste

Directions:

Thread shrimp onto skewers and season with pepper and juice from 1/2 of the lime. In a bowl, mix mayonnaise, sweet chile sauce, scallions, juice from 1/2 lime, and pepper and red pepper. Set aside. Over a charcoal grill or a gas grill turned to medium-high heat, grill shrimp skewers for 2-3 minutes per side. Serve immediately with “bang bang” sauce.

photo

photo

image

We made these shrimp skewers for the FSU game on Monday night, and while they weren’t breaded like Bonefish’s version, they still packed the necessary kick to give me my “bang bang shrimp” fill. We served the shrimp with some grilled vegetables and a sweet potato (notice mine globbed with butter).

This morning I’m about to go start a new furniture project – I’ll be sure to show you the finished product!

2 thoughts on “Skinny “Bang Bang” Shrimp Skewers

  1. Pingback: Back to Bodypump + Healthier “Bang Bang” Shrimp | eatsandfastfeets

Leave a comment